Software Eject your caddie

User Notification Amendment
Dynamode External USB Hard Disk Enclosure Series
Please note:This amendment applies to all
USB2.0 and USB3.0 external HDU and SSD enclosures
Please be aware that your external USB hard disk enclosure functions in the same way as a USB memory
stick. Before the USB enclosure is unplugged from your Windows or Mac desktop or portable it MUST be
‘software ejected’ beforehand, i.e. before unplugging
the USB cable which connects the computer to your external USB Enclosure.
Why Do I need to do this?
Your Windows(tm) or Mac(tm) operating system is a multi-tasking OS and as such files are copied to and
from the external hard disk in the background (without user knowledge). These files relate to cache files (to
speed processes up) and temporary files (like when starting a word processor). By ‘software ejecting’ the
attached USB Hard Disk, these files are correctly removed and the main computer, for which it is attached to,
knows this external drive no longer exists.
What Happens if I just unplug the USB cable?
Often data corruption will occur, on the external USB hard disk or SSD. This can cause errors when plugged
back in, I.e unable to read your files on the external hard disk or SSD. It may also cause data corruption on
your main computer. Sometimes the only remedy will be to re-format the hard disk or SSD which means you
loose all your work!
How do I ‘software eject’?

Software Eject your caddie

Comments are closed.